ICC Awards 2010

Sachin Tendulkar

ICC awards: At the Grand Castle in Bangalore 2010 ICC Awards were granted to various cricketers on 6th Oct, 2010.  Here, Sachin Tendulkar was awarded the Cricketer of the year award.  The master blaster said that was better late than never when he was asked about his long awaited first ICC Cricketer of the Year award.  He showed his happiness for the achievement of the team as number one Test team ranking in Dec and maintenance of the same since then.  He added that it was all due to the support of his fans he had and he will continue to do his best.

Virendra Sehwag

Test Cricketer of the Year: Virender Sehwag was awarded the Test Cricketer of the Year in the function.  For the last one year he had been a exhibiting a nice cricket, on Tuesday the win against Australia he rated that was the best win of his career.  Sehwag said that it was his privilege to be the part of the winning team of India and they are hoping to win the ODI World Cup in the coming time.

ODI Cricketer of the Year: AB de Villiers – ODI’s relevance in future is asked to AB what he thinks for the same.  He replied that he plays all the formats well and loves all equally and added that if required any changes in the format it was only ICC which can make changes to keep the interest alive.

World Test team of the Year: Lead by MS Dhoni-Sachin Tendulkar, Simon Katich, Virender Sehwag, Hashim Amla, Jacques Kallis, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, James Anderson, Graeme Swann, Doug Bollinger, and Dale Steyn.  Ms Dhoni the Indian Skipper said about his team that he was proud of teams performances. When asked for what improvements should have to be done in Indian team he said that they are weak in ground fielding and will do some improvements.

World ODI Team of The Year: Lead by Ricky Ponting- Shane Watson, Sachin Tendulkar, AB de Villiers, Michael Hussey, Ricky Ponting, Paul Collingwood, Daniel Vettori, MS Dhoni, Stuart Broad, Ryan Harris.  Ponting said that he was not here expecting any thing to win and surprised to get the award. LG People’s Choice Award : Sachin Tendulkar. Double Dhamaka. Spirit of the cricket award was given to New Zealand.  Shelley Nitschke was awarded as the Women’s Cricketer of the Year.  Brendon McCullum was awarded as Twenty20 International Performance of the Year award for his unbeaten 116 against Australia.  Netherlands Ryan ten Doeschate was awarded as Associate & Affiliate player of the Year.  Steven Finn of England was given Emerging player of the Year award.  The Pakistani umpire Aleem Dar for the second consecutive year won the award of ICC Umpire of the Year.  For Hall of Fame in cricket along with Bishan Singh Bedi West Indies fast bowlers Courtney Walsh and Joel Garner and the late Ken Barrington of England joined the sixty male members and the first woman to be inducted was Rachael Heyhoe Flint of England.

Red Carpet Arrivals: Among the first arrivals was Bishan Singh Bedi.  This evening he was going to be inducted as ICC Hall of The Fame, he said it was a great honour to him.  He was grilled by the media waiting for him about the tour of Australia. Whether that will be a big rivalry than that of India vs Pakistan.  Bedi replied that it is always been in both the teams.  At the award function Indian team arrived in the team bus almost running to red carpet.  Sachin Tendulkar was stop ed to answer questions he was to get three awards tonight.  He was in great and good mood after Tuesday’s win over Australia in Mohali.  He said Yesterday’s win was a very 2 special win though every win is a happiest moment and means a lot.  Aussies were in their team blazers and ties quite suited and booted.  Collared T-shirts were worn by Indian team players,  as they were afforded coats by BCCI/Sahara. Sachin Tendulkar was dressed in as Dabaang style.  Shelly Nitschke was in her short one-shoulder dress was not able to hold the trophy well while asked  by the photographers.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply