Takhat Shri Keshgarh Sahib

Takhat Shri Keshgarh Sahib

Takhat Shri Keshgarh Sahib
Takhat Shri Keshgarh Sahib

Sikhism has been one of the religions of the world, which has catered the interest from almost every corner of the world. It is the only religion which prays for the welfare of all the people of world-“Nanak Naam Chadikala Tere Bhane Sarbhat Da Bhala”, is the motto of Sikhism. Sikhism came into existence with the birth of Shri Guru Nanak Dev Ji in the year 1469. Shri Guru Nanak Dev JI is the first guru of Sikhs and is the founder of Sikh religion. He took birth at the time, when there was anarchy all around by the cruel rulers of that time. At that time of anarchy, his birth marked the beginning of a new era peace and universal brotherhood. He preached the teachings of that Almighty God and speeded the message of love, equality and hard work among the people of this world. His birth brought a ray of light of love and hope among the people. Since then Sikhism is catering the interest of the people from all over thaw world.

Five Takhats Of Sikhism

There are five Takhats in Sikhism. Generally by Takhat, we mean throne. Thus a Takhat is considered as a symbol of authority. In Sikhism all five Takhats are gurudwaras and in them all the decision concerning the sikh religion are taken. Thus it would not be wrong if we call them the Supreme Court of Sikhs. Five Takhats of Sikhs are enlisted here:

  • Shri Akal Takhat Sahib is the first Takhat of Sikhism. It is situated at Amritsar. It was laid down by Shri Guru Hargobind Sahib, sixth guru of Sikhs in 1609 for the service of humanity. The meaning of Akal is Almighty. Thus we can say that is the house of almighty. It is the senior-most authority in sikh religion and all the Hukamnamas or the orders issued by this authority are obligatory for every sikh.
  • Takhat Shri Damdama Sahib is the second Takhat of Sikhs. It has been established by Shri Grur Gobind Singh Ji, the tenth guru of Sikhs . Here Guru Gobind Singh Ji compiled the final edition of Shri Guru Granth Sahib known as Damadama Sahib Bir in the year 1705.
  • Takhat Shri Keshgarh Sahib is the third Takhat of Sikhs and it is situated at Anandpur Sahib. It is considered to be as the birth place of Khalsa. Shri Guru Gobind Singh established Khalsa here in the year 1699 on the Baisakhi Day.
  • Takhat Shri Hazoor Sahib is the fourth Takhat of Sikhs. Here Guru Gobind Singh Ji moved towards the heavenly adobe in the year 1708. It is situated near the banks of the river Godavri in Maharashtra.
  • Takhat Shri Patna Sahib is the fifth and the last Takhat of Sikhs. It is situated in Bihar. Here Guru Gobind Singh Ji took birth in the house of Guru Tegh Bahadur Ji, the ninth Guru of Sikhs in the year 1666.

Takhat Shri Keshgarh Sahib

Takhat Shri Keshgarh Sahib
Takhat Shri Keshgarh Sahib

Takhat Shri Keshgarh Sahib is the third Takhat of Sikhs. It holds a great importance in the Sikh history. It is situated on the banks of river Sutlej and is surrounded by Shivalik Hills it has been symbol of protection for the Sikhs. It has been linked with birth of Khalsa. It is a place which has become a symbol of humanity and equality among the humanity. Moreover, it has also been famous for Ranjit Ngara which used to send a fear in the hearts of the tyrants of the time.

Establishment Of Keshgarh Sahib

Takhat Shri Keshgarh has been established by Shri Guru Tegh Bahadur Ji, the ninth guru of Sikhs. Actually, he bought this land of Makhowal and named it as Chak Nanki, which gradually became famous as Anandpur Sahib.

Establishment Of Khalsa Panth

Another great importance that this Takhat holds in Sikh religion is that it is the place where Khalsa Panth came into existence in the year 1699. It is here on the Baisakhi Day Guru Gobind Singh established Khalsa Panth by giving them pious amrit or nectar and transformed Sikhs into a community of lions. Actually he got this inspiration from the martyrdom of his father Shri Guru Tegh Bahadur Ji. It is at the moment that when Bhai Jaita Ji presented himself with the decapitated head of Guru Tegh Bahadur Ji that he decided to establish Khalsa Panth and demanded five heads from disciples of Sikh religion.

Panj Pyaras- A Symbol Of Equality

Panj Pyaras
Panj Pyaras

Guru Gobind Singh by establishing Khalsa not only transformed Sikhs to a community of brave fighters but also gave the message of equality to the whole world. As the all Panj Pyaras were from different castes and different religion but all are baptized to Khalsa by the Great Guru from the nectar (amrit) prepared in the same bowl and ultimately he himself got baptized to Khalsa Panth by the Panj Pyaras and made his disciples his Guru. He said:

  • The Khalsa is my form
  • I live within the Khalsa
  • The Khalsa is my Satguru

Five Panj Pyara baptized to Khalsa Panth are:

  1. Bhai Daya Singh
  2. Bhai Dharam Singh
  3. Bhai Himmat Singh
  4. Bhai Muhkam Singh
  5. Bhai Sahib Singh

Starting Point Of Independence Struggle

Takhat Shri Keshgarh sahib is also famous for it being a starting point of the struggle of India. The struggle continued until saffron flag was finally hoisted in the Royal Fort of Lahore. Thus Sikh community has got lot of reasons linked with this pious place and that’s why it got its name Anandpur Sahib. Recently the work of making eighth wonder of the world is on progress in this holy city.