Australia Thrashed India

T20 World Cup

Australia thrashed India: Super eight round match of ICC World Twenty20 group F was played between India and Australia at Kensington Oval, Bridgetown in Barbados. Both teams had won all there initial group stage matches. In this match, Indian skipper M S Dhoni won the coin toss and elected to filed first with intension of limiting the opponent team at low total. Batting first, Australian team scored 184 runs in limited 20 overs losing five wickets. Chasing the target of 185 runs to win, Indian team lost their all wicket at total of 135 runs in 17.4 over. India lost their first super eight round matches by 49 runs. David Warner of Australia was given man of the match award for his brilliant batting performance in the match.

Australia team

Australian openers did good job: Shane Watson and David Warner gave brilliant start to Australia. They made partnership of 104 runs in 10.5 over for first wicket. Both openers trashed all Indian bowlers except Harbhajan Singh. Team lost first wicket on fifth ball of eleventh over as Shane Watson. He scored 54 runs off 32 balls with one four and six sixes and became victim of Yusuf Pathan. David Warner was caught by Dhoni behind the stumps on the ball of Yuvraj Singh. He played brilliant inning of 72 runs off 42 balls with two fours and seven sixes. Haddin was stumped by Dhoni on the ball of Yuvraj Singh when he was at an individual score of eight runs. DJ Hussey and MEK Hussey became victim of Ashish Nehra after scoring 35 and 8 runs respectively. Due to good start, Australia managed to set a big total for India. They scored 184 runs losing 5 wickets. Ashish Nehra and Yuvraj Singh took two wickets each while Yusuf Pathan managed to get one wicket.

Rohit Sharma

Rohit Sharma’s effort went waste: Murli Vijay started inning for India along with Gautam Gambhir but they failed to give a good start to team. Murli Vijay lost his wicket on first ball of third over after adding just two runs while Gautam Gambhir added nine runs from his bat and lost his wicket on last ball of same over. Both of them became victim of Nannes. Suresh Raina and Rohit Sharma were in middle and team had big expectation from these young players. Suresh Raina failed to meet the expectations and lost his wicket adding just five runs off his bat. Yuvraj Singh is well known for hitting big shots but his bat did not work in the match and added just one run from his bat. He was caught by Clarke on the ball of Tait. Skipper M S Dhoni and Yusuf Pathan are also hard hitters of ball but against Australian bowling attack both of them failed as well. Rohit Sharma was holding one side and was scoring run for the team while other players were just making walk to the ground. Harbhajan Singh was only player to score runs in double digit other than Rohit Sharma. Harbhajan Singh scored 13 runs off 11 balls with one four and one six. Rohit Sharma was at his best and he scored unbeaten 79 runs off 46 balls with four fours and six sixes. He tried well but his efforts went waste as none of other batsmen stayed longer in middle with him. Indian team had strong batting lineup but team lost all wickets at total of 135 runs in 17.4 over and lost the match. Nannes and Tait took three wickets each for Australia while Shane Watson, Johnson and Smith managed to get one wicket each.