Chennai Super Kings Crowned Champions

Chennai Super Kings

Chennai Super Kings crowned champions: Chennai Super Kings became the champion of the third edition of Indian Premier League. They defeated the Mumbai Indians in final match by 22 runs played at Dr DY Patil Sports Academy in Mumbai. Chennai Super Kings skipper, MS Dhoni won the coin toss and put the opponent team on field by electing to bat first. Team scored a total of 168 runs after losing five wickets in limited twenty over fixture. Mumbai Indians failed to get the winning total and at end of 20 overs they were at total of 146 runs losing their nine wickets. Mumbai Indians skipper, Sachin Tendulkar played good inning for team off 48 runs but failed to make team get victory. He performed well throughout the tournament and was given man of series award for his good game. Suresh Raina got the man of the match award for good performance in the final match.

Mumbai Indians

CSR limited MI: Initially, Murli Vijay gave Chennai Super Kings momentum required as he scored 26 runs with one four and two sixes. Hayden played steady game while Suresh Raina played brilliant inning of unbeaten 57 runs off 35 balls with three fours and three sixes. Dhoni gave contribution of 22 runs while in last overs, Morkel scored quick 15 runs off just 6 balls with one six and one four which made team set the highest total of all three IPL final matches. Mumbai Indians required 169 runs to win the match. Team lost their first wicket early but Sachin Tendulkar and Nayar handled the situation and made partnership of 66 runs for second wicket. Tendulkar scored 48 runs while Nayar added 27 runs off his bat. Rayudu gave contribution of 21 runs off 14 balls while Pollard gave some hopes to team by hitting big shots but lost his wicket after adding 27 runs off 10 balls with three fours and two sixes. Rest of players of Mumbai Indians even failed to touch the double figure score individually with their bat. Chennai Super Kings managed to limit the Mumbai Indians at total of 146 runs to clinch the championship title.

Chennai Super Kings

CSR had also performed well in last editions: Chennai Super Kings had also performed well in previous two editions of Indian Premier League. In first season played in year 2008, Chennai Super Kings made into semi final round by winning eight of their league matches. They defeated Kings XI Punjab in final and made into final round where they faced Rajasthan Royals. Chennai Super Kings failed to win the final match and ended as runner up in first season. In second season of IPL played at South Africa in year 2209, Chennai Super Kings made into semi final round again. They won eight of their fourteen league matches while one match had no result due to rain. In semi final match, Royal Challengers Bangalore defeated Chennai Super Kings. Deccan Chargers became the winner in second season by defeating Royal Challengers Bangalore in final match. Chennai Super Kings faced Deccan Chargers in semi final round in third edition and by defeating them made into final and won the final match against Mumbai Indians.