Rajasthan Royals Vs Royal Challengers Bangalore- RCB Won By 5 Wickets

Indian Premier League

Indian Premier League match on April 14, 2010: 49th match of third season of IPL was played between Rajasthan Royals and Royal Challengers Bangalore at Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur. In this tournament both teams were at equal points by winning six matches before this match. Both teams had played twelve matches and had registered victories in six while lost rest of six matches. In this match, Rajasthan Royals skipper, Shane Warne won the coin toss and elected to bat first with aim of setting a big total and putting opponent team in pressure. Rajasthan Royals scored 130 runs in twenty over losing their six wickets while in return Royal Challengers Bangalore got the winning total in by losing five wickets when 26 balls were remaining to bowl. KP Pietersen played brilliant inning of 62 runs and was suitably rewarded with man of the match award. Royal Challengers Bangalore are now at second place after winning seven matches while Mumbai Indians are at top by winning 9 matches of 12 they played so far.

Rajasthan Royals

Rajasthan Royals innings: As skipper, Shane Warne had decided to bat first so MJ Lumb and Naman Ojha started the inning for Rajasthan Royals. It was bad day for team and they got bad start. Team lost their first wicket as MJ Lumb on second ball of third over when team was at 16 runs and he was at an individual score of 9 runs with the help of one four. He lost his wicket during running between the wickets. AG Paunikar was next man to bat for the team but he even failed to open his run account and lost his wicket on fourth ball of same over. He was caught by wicket keeper Robin Uthappa on the ball of Vinay Kumar. In very next over, Rajasthan Royals lost their wicket keeper Naman Ojha as well. He scored 7 runs with one four and was caught by Pandey on the ball of Pankaj Singh. Rajasthan Royals had lost their three important batsmen wicket at total of21 runs in 3.2 over. Shane Watson and Abhishek Jhunjhunwala tried to manage the conditions for the team. Shane Watson was caught by Pietersen on the ball of Kallis, on first ball of eleventh over, when he was at an individual score of 22 runs off 25 balls with 3 fours. On fourth ball of next over Jhunjhunwala was caught by skipper Anil Kumble on the ball of Pankaj Singh when he was at individual score of 13 runs and team was at total of 58 runs. Yusuf Pathan failed to show magic from his bat in this match when needed that most. He added 11 runs with the help of 2 fours and lost his wicket on the ball of Steyn. Rajasthan Royals were at total of 72 runs after losing six wickets in 13.1 over. AC Voges and AS Raut took command for batting and played rest of over. Voges was unbeaten at 28 runs off 27 balls with 3 fours in his inning while Rautw scored unbeaten at 32 runs of 20 balls with 3 fours and one six in his inning. At end of 20 over inning, Rajasthan Royals were at total of 130 runs losing six wickets. Pankaj Singh got two wickets for Royal Challengers Bangalore while Vinay Kumar, Steyn and Kallis managed to get one wicket.

Royal Challengers

Royal Challengers Bangalore innings: Rajasthan Royals set target of 131 runs to win for Royal Challengers Bangalore. MK Pandey started the inning for the team along with JH Kallis for Royal Challengers Bangalore. Team had bad start as they lost Kallis on third ball of second over when he had not even opened his run account and team was at total of 14 runs. Kamran Khan showed him way to pavilion. KP Pietersen was in playing squad and he was sent to bat at number three. Pandey was caught by Yusuf Pathan on the ball of Trivedi when he was playing at 14 runs off 13 balls with 3 fours. Team had already lost both openers at total of 42 runs. Robin Uthappa joined Pietersen in middle to continue the winning campaign of the team. Uthappa and Pietresen made partnership of 60 runs for third wicket. Team lost their third wicket as Uthappa on fourth ball of eleventh over when he was at an individual score off 26 runs off 21 balls with 2 fours and 1 six. He was stumped by wicket keeper Naman Ojha on the ball of Shane Warne. On fifth ball of next over, brilliant inning of Pietersen came to an end as he lost his wicket during running between the wickets. He scored 62 runs off 29 balls with 10 fours and 2 sixes in his brilliant inning. Virat Kohli added 14 runs with the help of 2 fours and was caught by Shane Watson on the ball of Trivedi. Taylor and Rahul Darvid scored remaining runs for the team and made team get victory. Taylor was unbeaten at 10 runs while Rahul Dravid scored unbeaten 5 runs with one four. Royal Challengers Bangalore won the match by 5 wickets. Trivedi took two wickets for Rajasthan Royals while Kamran Khan and skipper Shane Warne got one wicket each but failed to save the game.