It was Sehwag Vs Rajasthan Royals

IPL 2010

RR Openers Delhi Daredevils and Rajasthan Royals played their second match of the IPL season 2010 in the Sardar Patel Stadium, Ahmadabad on 15th March. It was a day-night match. Delhi Daredevils won the toss and elected to field first. Both the openers of the Rajasthan Royal opened their accounts in the ‘Royal’ fashion and both of them hit boundaries to open their accounts. Rajasthan opener Swapnil Asnodkar hit the very first ball of the inning for a four and thus opened account for his team in a very ‘desirable’ manner. DD fast bowler Farveez Maharoof over pitched some deliveries and was punished for his wrong line and length. He was unfortunate ‘a bit’ too as one misfiled on his bowling turned into a boundary and thus putting extra pressure on the bowler. But it was DD fast bowler Dirk Nannes who put jinx to RR’s flying start by taking the sensational wicket of  Swapnil Asnodkar on the very second ball of this first over. Tillakaratne Dilshan caught him at the backward point. Next-man-in Naman Ojha surprised the DD bowlers when he played some adventurous shots.  He was fortunate enough as he had edged a Nanas’ delivery and it had fallen short of the slip. He hit two fours in the third over of the inning and thus putting the pressure back on the DD bowlers. On the other end DD bowler Dirk Nannes was very impressive with his line and length but his ‘tight’ bowling could not stop RR opener Graeme Smith (18) from playing adventurous shots on his leg side.

ipl 2010 Sehwag
ipl 2010 Sehwag

Naman Ojha Rajasthan Royals were in a balanced position with 31 runs on the board for 1 from four overs when DD captain introduced leg-spinner Amit Mishra into the attack. This move proved out to be very disastrous as Ojha hit him for three consecutive boundaries the last one of which was a huge six. But Mishra took his revenge by bowling him out on the very next ball of the same over which was a ‘well disguised googly’. Naman Ojha scored 24 runs on 14 balls which included four fours and a six. After his departure RR sensation Yusuf Pathan came on to the crease. It must be learnt that Yusuf Pathan had hit the fastest IPL century in the previous match that RR had narrowly lost by three runs. He showed some respect to Maharoof by playing defensive but could not keep his natural ‘free flowing’ suppressed for a long time. But Mahroof sent him back for a duck with a slower ball when he tried to hit him for a six but was caught in the deep by AB de Villiers. After Pathan’s departure youngster Abhishekh Jhunjhunwala came in to bat for his team. It took the advantage of this crucial time and introduced debutant Sarabjeet Ladda into the attack and he bowled 8th over of the inning.

cricket sehwag
Cricket Sehwag

Paras Dogra-Abhishek Jhunjhunwala Pradeep Sangwan bowled the ninth over for his side and on the very first ball of his over got RR opener Graeme Smith caught in the hands of Sehwag. With youngsters on the crease RR lost the momentum in the middle overs and their run rate had come down below six in the 11th over which was above 8 during during first eight overs. RR had 91 runs on the score board for 4 from the 15 overs. In the sixteenth over RR batsmen showed some courage to play adventurous shots and scored 17 runs on Ladda’s over. But RR’s woes had not ended here. Paras Dogra (29) was very unfortunate as he tried to take a run which was never there and got run-out. Mix-up with Jhunjhunwala ended his stay on the crease and thus RR’s hopes of later burst ended with his departure. They both added 60 runs in the RR innings from just eight overs. Mascarenhas (3), who is known for his long hits could not do enough and got run out when he tried to take a second run on one of his shot and fell short of this crease. Jhunjhunwala was the most successful batsman for the Rajasthan Royals as he scored 53 runs on 45 balls and completed his half century by hitting the very last ball of the RR inning for a four. Thus RR had put a decent total of 141 runs on the board. Sangwan was the most economical bowler for DD as only 20 runs in his four overs and took the prized wicked of Graeme Smith. Dirk Nannes was also very impressive.


Delhi Daredevils With in-form openers like Virender Sehwag and Gautam Gambhir Rajasthan Royals’ 142 run target looked very little and it proved out to be true as the time ‘enfolded’. They both gave a flying start to their inning. Sehwag was in his natural ‘destructive’ form. It is evident form it that when Delhi Daredevils were at 40 from four overs for none, Sehwag alone had scored 30 runs just in 13 balls. RR fast bowler Munaf Patel was at the receiving end as he was welcomed with a six which was followed by a four. Dmitri Mascarenhas and Shaun Tait, too were not spared by him and were mated out the same treatment. Dmitri Mascarenhas provided much needed break-throughs to his side by getting Gambhir caught in the hands of Graeme Smith and one the very next ball got Tillakratne Dilshan caught behind the wickets for a duck. It was a big blow to the DD’s strong batting line-up. But this double-blow did not affect Sehwag and he kept on playing his natural game. He hit Mascarenhas for a six and a four in his next over and was dropped at 41 by Tait on the very next ball. Sehwag was in his destructive form and was dealing in boundaries. He welcomed RR bowler Amit Uniyal with a six and completed his half century by hitting a four on the very next ball of his over. After it he hit a straight six on the very next ball. In the ninth over RR captain Shane Warne introduced himself into the attack but by then Delhi Daredevils were in a very strong position and needed just five runs per over to win the match with eight wickets in hand and Sehwag on the crease in a well set and concentrated position. It was Munaf Patel who took the prized wicked of Sehwag when G Smith took a very difficult catch. But by then Sehwag had done enough damage and rest of the match looked like formalities as DD needed only 43 runs from 63 balls. Sehwag scored 75 runs just in 34 balls and his knock included 8 fours and 5 sixes. Shane Warne got AB de Villiers caught in the hands of Faize Fazal. Dinesh Karthik and Mithun Manhas completed rest of the task for DD in the 18th over. Later on Sehwag was adjudged man of the match.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply