IPL Third Season Started With Victory Of KKR


Third season of IPL started: First match of Indian Premier League of third season is played between Deccan Chargers and Kolkata Knight Riders at Dr DY Patil Sports Academy in Mumbai. Indian Premier League started in year 2008 and first season champions were Rajasthan Royals while second season held in South Africa because of security reasons because of elections in India. Second season winner were Deccan Chargers. Today started the third season in which last year champions Deccan Chargers lost their first match against Kolkata Knight Riders by 11 runs. AD Mathews who is Sri Lankan all rounder made Kolkata Knight Riders reach a respectable score with OA Shah of England. AD Mathews of Kolkata Knight Riders was awarded with man of the match award for his brilliant performance in the match.

Kollkata Knight Riders

Kolkata Knight Riders Inning: Deccan Chargers skipper Adam Gilchrist won the coin toss and invited Kolkata Knight Riders to bat first deciding to field first. MK Tiwary and BJ Hodge started inning for Kolkata Knight Riders but Chaminda Vaas was on fire and he sent MK Tiwary to pavilion on his very first ball. MK Tiwary was caught by Sharma on the ball of Vaas without opening his account of runs. Kolkata Knight Riders’s skipper and former Indian team captain Sorav Ganguly was next man who came in middle to bat but Vaas did not let him open his account as well and he was caught by Anirudh Singh on ball of Vaas. Team was in critical conditions as team had lost two good batsmen without opening score for the team and CA Pujara came in middle as next man to bat. CA Pujara also failed to stay longer on ground and when he was at an individual score of 10 runs he was caught by Ojha in the ball of RP Singh. OA Shah joined BJ Hodge in middle and was looking in good form. BJ Hodge was also not able to resist himself more against Deccan Chargers bowlers and caught by Gibbs on the ball of Jaskaran Singh when he was at an individual score of 13 runs of 9 balls with 1 four and 1 six in his inning. Now team was in bad circumstances as team had lost four batsmen in just 5.1 over and team had scored a total of just 31 runs. AD Mathews and OA Shah took the command of the team and played till rest of fifteen over without giving chances to Deccan Chargers bowlers. OA Shah scored unbeaten 58 runs of 46 balls with 3 six and 3 fours in his inning while AD Mathews played extremely well scoring 65 runs of 46 balls with 5 fours and 4 sixes in his inning. They played for their team when team was in very bad conditions and team needed a good partnership. They made team reach a respectable score of 161 runs at end of 20 over of game. WPUJC Vaas took 2 wickets while RP Singh and Jaskaran Singh were able to take one wicket each for their team Deccan Chargers.

Deccan Chargers

Deccan Chargers Inning: Deccan Chargers had to score 162 runs to win the match and they were last year winners so they had also pressure of defending their image. Deccan Chargers’s skipper Adam Gilchrist starting inning for team with VVS Laxman. They gave quick start to team scoring some quick runs. VVS Laxman was caught by Kartik on his own bowl when he was at an individual score of 22 runs of 14 balls with 2 fours and 1 six in his inning. Team was at a total of 61 runs in 5.5 over when lost first wicket and HH Gibbs joined skipper in middle to continue the campaign of team.  Skipper Adam Gilchrist was playing quick and lost his wicket by scoring 54 runs with 3 fours and 3 sixes. He was caught by Tiwary on the ball of Hodge. Andrew Symonds joined Gibbs in middle but Gibbs was caught by Mathews on the ball of Langeveldt when he was at an individual score of 19 runs. Soon Symonds was caught by Kolkata Knight Riders skipper Ganguly on the ball of Ishant Sharma just adding 5 runs from his bat. Team had lost four wickets at a total of 116 runs in 14.1 over and still had a long way to go. RG Sharma and Anirudh Singh were in middle now and made partnership of just 12 runs Sharma was caught by Hodge on ball of Mathews. He scored 13 runs off 12 balls with 2 fours. In very next over Anirudh Singh was caught by Shukla on his own ball. Anirudh Singh scored 14 runs of 14 balls with 1 four.  In next over Vaas was sent back to pavilion by Langeveldt without scoring any run. TL Suman and Jaskaran Singh scored unbeaten 7 and 4 runs respectively and at end of 20 over team were able to make a total of 150 runs against 161 runs of Kolkata Knight Riders. CK Langeveldt was most successful bowler taking two wickets for team while Ishant Sharma, LR Shukla, M Kartik, AD Mathews and BJ Hodge got one wicket each. Kolkata Knight Riders won their first match of third season beating last year’s champions.

Mumbai Indians

Mumbai Indians to face Rajasthan Royals: Second match of this season will be played between Mumbai Indians and first season champion Rajasthan Royals at Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai. Both teams have some of great international players and some emerging players. It is home ground for Mumbai Indians and their skipper Sachin Tendulkar is in very good form as in his last one day international he had scored unbeaten 200 runs making a world record. Mumbai Indian had got fifth position in first season while in second season their performance was too poor and got seventh position of eight teams while team has prepared well for this season and have also got some new players like Pollard which they bought at high rate during auction. Team will like to do their best to start the championship with win in the match while on other side Rajasthan Royals was champion of first season which was played in India and would also like start their campaign by registering win in the match.