Nomination For 55th Filmfare Awards

Saif Ali khan & Shahrukh Khan

55th Filmfare awards: February 27, 2010 is the day decided for the 55th filmfare awards where the actors and people linked with film industry will be rewarded with prize for giving their best performance. Prizes are given every year for the quality work whether it is in field of direction or singing or acting which motivates them to work better in future and entertain people. These awards are annually presented by The Times group for Hindi language films and these are often referred as Oscar award of Hindi film industry. These awards were started in year 1954 and the same year National Film Award were also introduced which were referred to as the Clare Awards after the editor of The Times of India, Clare Mendionca. National film award are decided by the panel which is appointed by Indian Government while Filmfare award are getting popularity as in 1956 dual voting system was developed according to which votes considered are from both public as well as committee of experts. This year it is 55th time when these awards will be presented and nominations are already made according to the performances of the last year.

A R Rehman

Nominations for the best film: There were many big hits in last year and among them six movies are nominated for the best film award. “3 Idiots” was biggest hit of last year and had broken all past records of gross earnings and it is nominated for the best film as well. Other five movies nominated are Dev D, Kaminey, Love Aaj Kal, Paa and Wake Up Sid. “Dev D” was a different movie released on 6 February 2009 which was directed and written by Anurag Kashyap and movie was based on modern day take Sarat Chandra Chattopadhyay’s classic Bengali novel Devdas. This movie is considered to be among path breaking films in Hindi film industry. “Kaminey” was directed by Vishal Bharadwaj and produced by Ronnie Screwvala and movie was regarded as a masterpiece and a landmark in Indian cinema by audience but still failed to win best film award. “Love Aaj Kal” was directed by Imtiaz Ali and produced by Saif Ali Khan and Dinesh Vijan. Film portrays the feeling of pure love which never changes over time although the perspective of realizing one’s soulmate has changed over time. “Wake Up Sid” was released on 2 October 2009 and it was directed by Ayan Mukerji, produced by Karan Johar’s Dharma Productions, distributed by UTV Motion Pictures, and has visual effects by the Prime Focus Group. Movie tells the story of spoiled, rich-kid Sid Mehra who is a college student and is taught meaning of life by Aisha who is an aspiring writer from Kolkata. Movie takes place in contemporary Mumbai and Sid Mehra’s role is played by Ranbir Kapoor while Aisha’s character by Konkona Sen Sharma. Another movie nominated is “Paa” which was released on December 4, 2009 and it was based on a genetic condition known as Progeria and places emphasis on a father-son relationship. Movie was directed by R. Balakrishnan and produced by Amitabh Bachchan Corporation and Sunil Manchanda.

Shahid Kapoor

Best actor and actress nominations: Various actors and actress entertained the country as well as abroad and now it’s time to reward them for their performances. Actors nominated for the film fare awards for best leading actor are Aamir Khan for “3 Idiots”, Amitabh Bachchan for “Paa”, Ranbir Kapoor for “Ajab Prem Ki Ghazab Kahani” and “Wake Up Sid”, Saif Ali Khan for “Love Aaj Kal” and Shahid Kapoor for “Kaminey”. All movies were different from each other in different sense and these actors proved there excellence by their characters played in the movies as Aamir Khan played character of Ranchoddas Shamaldas Chanchad as a student of top institute while Amitabh Bachchan played a role of a child suffering from genetic disease Progeria. Ranbir Kapoor is nominated for two of his movies which increase his chances to get the award being two nominations out of six. Saif Ali Khan is nominated for his movie “Love Aaj Kal” in which he played character of Jai Vardhan Singh while Shahid Kapoor is nominated for his performance in movie “Kaminey” which was completely different movie. For the best leading actress nominees are Deepika Padukone for “Love Aaj Kal”, Kareena Kapoor for “3 Idiots” and “Kurbaan”, Katrina Kaif for “New York”, Priyanka Chopra for “Kaminey” and Vidya Balan for excellent performance in movie “Paa”. Every actor want to get the film fare award but one who will get the highest votes by the public as well as the committee of the experts will get the award. Nominees for the best actor in supporting role among males are Amole Gupte for “Kaminey”, Boman Irani. R Madhavan and Sharman Joshi for “3 Idiots”, Neil Nitin Mukesh for “New York” and Rishi Kapoor for “Luck by Chance” while among actress best actress nominees in supporting role are Arundhati Nag for “Paa”, Dimple Kapadia for “Luck By Chance”, Divya Dutta for “Delhi-6     “, Kalki Koechlin for “Dev D”, Supriya Pathak for  “Wake Up Sid” and Shahana Goswami for “Firaaq”.

Other important nominations: For the best directors nominees are Anurag Kashyap for “Dev D”, Ayan Mukerji for “Wake up Sid”, Imtiaz Ali for “Love Aaj Kal”, R Balki for “Paa”, Rajkumar Hirani for “3 Idiots” and Vishal Bhardwaj for “Kaminey”. Best music director award nominees are Rahman for “Delhi-6”, Amit Trivedi for “Dev D”, Pritam for “Ajab Prem Ki Ghazab Kahani”, and “Love Aaj Kal”, Shankar-Ehsaan-Loy for “Wake Up Sid “ and Vishal Bhardwaj for “Kaminey”. Writers who are nominated for their lyrics are Gulzar for song Kaminey and Dhan te nan of movie “Kaminey”, Irshad Kamil for song Aaj din chadya of movie “Love Aaj Kal”, Javed Akhtar for song Iktara of movie “Wake Up Sid” while Prasoon Joshi for song Masakali and Rehna tu of movie “Delhi 6”. Best playback singers nominated in male category are Atif Aslam for song Tu jaane na of movie “Ajab Prem Ki Ghazab Kahani”, Javed Ali and Kailash Kher for song Arziyan of movie “Delhi-6”, Mohit Chauhan for song Masakali of movie “Delhi-6”, Rahat Fateh Ali Khan for song Aaj din chadya of movie    “Love Aaj Kal”, Sukhwinder Singh and Vishal Dadlani for singing song Dhan te nan of movie “Kaminey”, Sonu Niigaam and Salim Merchant for song Shukran allah of movie “Kurbaan” while in female category nominees are Alisha Chinoy for song Tera hone laga of movie “Ajab Prem Ki Ghazab Kahani”, Kavita Seth for song Iktara of movie “Wake Up Sid”, Rekha Bhardwaj for singing song Genda phool of movie “Delhi-6”, Shilpa Rao for song Mudi mudi of movie    “Paa”, Shreya Ghoshal for song Zoobi doobi of movie “3 idiots” and Sunidhi Chauhan for singing song Chor bazaar of movie  “Love Aaj Kal”.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply